Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Focus on Example

Recently my daughter came home excited about being chosen as the “bee buddy” for her classroom at school.  What is a “bee buddy?”  They are the student in each class that helps new students become adjusted to their new room, school, etc.  My daughter was chosen for this by her teacher because she was seen being thoughtful, caring about other students, helpful, and willing to play with those who might not normally have a friend.  I can’t tell you how proud I was.  But this isn’t the first time I’ve been told about these positive qualities.  Since she was in preschool I have been told how friendly and caring she is to her peers and teachers.  My son is beginning to be the same way, always making sure to get candy for his sister or his friends when he gets a piece, being appreciative of things he’s been given, and asking what’s wrong if someone is hurt.  I’d like to say that my husband and I can take all the credit for this, and we’ve worked with both of them, but we aren’t the only ones.  My children have numerous role models in their lives that they watch each and every day, and who care for them unconditionally.  Adults (and teens) who show them kindness, who treat them as human beings, who listen to them.  I pray that these people continue to stay in their lives into adulthood, so they are able to be led in a Godly way through their own teen years.     We have quite a large pre-teen group right now at TCCC, and they are in the absolutely capable hands of the Stretch 456 ministry.  But shaping those children goes beyond the walls of their Sunday classroom.  It extends to each and every one of us in this building, and I ask that you take the time to continue investing in this next generation of believers.  Trust me, it’s worth it.
~ Lesley Tipton

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

