Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Focus on Serving

John 13:1-20

I remember as a boy of ten that Sunday morning in March 1957, coming forward to accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior, to be baptized, and to receive the forgiveness of my sins.  I remember the joy I felt coming forward and practically flying down the aisle of the Maxwell Street Christian Church.  My worries were over, no Hell for me, I was saved by Jesus and I was Heaven bound.

Believing that I had it made, that I had done everything I needed to do to be saved and that there was nothing else to do, I did nothing, sorry to say, for too many years.  In those many years, I grew physically but spiritually I was still that ten year old boy; not realizing that when you are saved in Christ Jesus you are saved for a purpose.  That purpose is to serve God and to serve others, both non-Christian and Christian alike.  Jesus sets the example of serving others in John 13:1-20 by washing the feet of the twelve apostles.  Jesus, the Son of God, the Creator, Almighty God, washed the Apostles feet.  He even washed the feet of Judas Iscariot, the one who was to soon betray Him.  The task of washing people’s feet was usually assigned to a non-Jewish slave as visitors and guests came into a house after walking on dusty roads.

Jesus, after washing the apostles’ feet, said in verses 12-17, “Do you understand what I have done to you?  You call me Teacher and Lord and you are right, for so I am.  If I then, your Lord and Teacher have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet.  For I have given you an example, that you also should do just as I have done to you.  Truly, truly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.”

This teaching of Jesus in John 13, whom does it benefit, the apostles only?  No, not only them, but also all of us who are in Christ Jesus, called by His name.  Our Lord and Savior is calling us to serve Him by serving one another.  To help our neighbors no matter how small or lowly the task might be.

Now, I encourage you, don’t be like me and waste years doing nothing.  Remember, in Christ we are a new creation, saved for a purpose, to serve God and others.  Oh and by the way, if you are like me, the time to focus on serving Him, is NOW!

Heavenly Father, may we serve you with a pure heart and cheerful spirit that you would receive the glory.

~ Larry Critchfield, Elder

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

