Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Family Legacy

I think I’ve mentioned before that I don’t have a very big family.  Here in Kentucky it’s just my mom and me.  Her family is all located up north, and my family is located down in the Texas/Oklahoma area.  Growing up I spent the majority of my time with my father’s side of the family, as they were the only living grandparents I had.   We were still somewhat separated, as my cousins lived in Finland with their parents who were missionaries there for 15 years, and I was here.  However, we always managed to end up at Grandma’s house fairly often.  My grandmother told us quite extensively about her past. (She was a model for Bob Hope!  We may be direct descendants of a signer of the Declaration of Independence!)

I never did hear much about my grandfather, except that he was a lifer in the Air Force.  Come to find out at his funeral, he had done quite a few things throughout his life that were noteworthy, and to this day I wish I had been more mature and thought to ask him about all of the things that he did.  With the onset of digital technology and record keeping, it becomes easier to document the things that happen in our lives and those memories that make a family.  I try very hard to make sure that my children know about the things that are in their family history.  I want them to know that our family is full of hard working and caring individuals, and that all of our family has always had a firm belief in Jesus Christ.  I also want them to know of the struggles that have come up along the way, but our family has persevered and we are all still standing strong no matter how small a group we may be.

Lesley Tipton

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

