Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Understanding Our Calling

Take a moment and think about the disciples that walked with Jesus?  I am sure you have done this lots of times before from several different perspectives, but this time I am asking you to think about them from the perspective of living a new life with Jesus.  Matthew, Simon Peter, Andrew, James, John, Philip, Bartholomew, Thomas, James, Simon, and Judas.  Each of these men came from different backgrounds, but Jesus saw something in them.  He called them to follow and be fishers of men.  Jesus, God’s Son, called them.  He told them to leave everything behind and that they would suffer and be persecuted.  He told them.  He taught them how to love, how to serve, and how to lay down their lives for the cause of the Gospel.  As they were changing into these powerhouse messengers for the greatest message ever to be told, stop and wonder what they might have been changing from.  I don’t know for sure where all of these men came from in regards to their personalities, but I have an idea.

When I was in college I worked in a factory for a short time and also on a house framing crew for several summer and winter breaks.  Both of these work areas were tough places for me spiritually.  The conversations were often very offensive and degrading to anyone.  There were moments that I was fierce with my faith and worked hard to be a witness, but there were times when I also stumbled and fell on my face in my walk.  The wisest choice for me was to leave these areas.  Simply flee.

In the midst of these times I received my call to ministry.  It was a literal phone call.  I rejected it at first, but a year later accepted.  The call was to serve as a youth minister for a very small rural church.  I am pretty sure I was called by the church because of the example of faith my parents had set in the community. I would be in charge of all programming from birth through college age.  My first week in the ministry the seriousness of my calling became a reality.  The children and students that followed my example and leadership needed me to be something that I wasn’t in my every day life.  I needed to change. I needed to… accept my call.  To do this I had to know more about Jesus and allow Him to multiply inside of me.  He needed to have more space in my heart and push out the stuff that shouldn’t be there.  I had to learn to walk like I was worthy of my calling.

Now, take a look at Ephesians 4:1-6.  It is here that Paul reminds us of our call. Our call to be united. To be humble, gentle, patient, and bearing with one another.  As we search together I encourage you to allow Christ to multiply in you!  To change you from the inside before he mulitiplies your impact outside!

Matt Lee

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

