Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Grace is our Foundation

The theme of the series we are involved in right now is “The Grace Foundation.”  When I hear the word “foundation,” a building project automatically comes to my mind.  You see, I have been a builder all of my life.  From the time I was a little boy I have been nailing boards together, and through the years learned enough to build my own home and build church buildings as a licensed contractor.  Because of my tendency to want to always nail boards together, my longsuffering wife has had to live in a continual construction zone, as I can’t stop myself from fixing what I see wrong or changing something that could be improved upon.  Just ask her, she’ll tell you of the many messes she’s had to live with through the years we’ve been married.  Right now she’s dreading the next project in our home as I am going head to head with a continually cracking spot of sheetrock.  I say continually cracking because I’ve already patched it 3 times.  That tells me something else needs to be done.  You see the floor is sagging because it’s improperly supported.  I know the solution is to support the sagging floor with a foundation.  Problems always occur in a building when it is inadequately supported.

Now forgive me for using that very earthy illustration, but that is why our efforts at multiplication often fail.  They are not supported, not built upon grace.  I’m reminded of what the Apostle Paul said in Ephesians 2 where he said, “You are saved by grace through faith, and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God.”  He says the foundation of our salvation is grace and grace is the solution for every life that is like a cracked wall.  Grace is the solution for lives that are like sagging floors, and, brothers and sisters, there are certainly a lot of people we encounter every day who are sagging floors and cracked walls.  Broken people are everywhere around us.

Now, to return to my analogy, that crack in the wall doesn’t bother my wife.  She knows a crack in the wall means a whole lot of mess if I undertake fixing it.  The trouble is, cracks in the wall trouble me.  I see the crack every time I walk thru the room and I can’t help myself, I have to fix it.  I know it will mean a mess, and I admit I often underestimate the time, effort, and money it will take, but again, I have to do it….It’s in my DNA.  Now the question for each of us is, are we bothered by the cracks in the wall or not?  Can we overlook broken people like my wife can overlook a crack in the wall?  Unfortunately, we far too often can and do because we look at their lives as being one big mess….a mess we don’t want to get involved in.  The reality is, however, that is not our DNA.  In that Ephesians passage on grace Paul speaks to those of us who have received that sure foundation, and he says we have been “created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”   That work is foundation repair.   Yes, it is a messy work.  Yes, we’ll have to get our hands dirty.  Yes, it will be time consuming and effort filled, but people need that sure foundation in their lives.  People need the Lord Jesus Christ and the grace He gives.  Isn’t our DNA demanding that of us?  The words of an old song speak a timely truth for us all.

“We are called to take His light to a world where wrong seems right.

What would be too great a cost for sharing life with one who’s lost?

Through His love our hearts can feel all the grief they bear.

They must hear the words of life only we can share.

People need the Lord, people need the Lord 

At the end of broken dreams, He’s the open door.

People need the Lord, people need the Lord.

When will we realize that we must give our lives?

For people need the Lord.

People need the Lord.”

Tell me brothers and sisters, how’s your DNA?

Kim Beckwith

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

