Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

The Sustenance of Grace – Ephesians 3:13-21

When I was first asked to write about the sustenance of Grace, I had to pause.  Sustenance is not a word that most of us use in our daily vocabulary.  I found three different definitions for sustenance in my
Webster’s dictionary.  The definition that I think most applies to grace is “that which sustains life; nourishment or food.”

God’s grace is definitely life-sustaining.  Paul wrote to the church in Ephesus in Ephesians 3:14-17 “For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name.  I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith.”  Thru God’s grace we have the incredible power of the Holy Spirit filling and feeding our souls on a daily basis.  Paul encourages us in Ephesians 3:19 to “be filled with all the fullness of God.”  We all fill our hearts and minds daily with something.  The world and Satan constantly tempt us to fill ourselves with temporary, earthly pleasures.  These are the equivalent of spiritual junk food.  It is so much healthier spiritually to ask the Holy Spirit and God’s word to fill us.

Many years ago someone taught me that GRACE was God’s Riches at Christ’s Expense.  God was kind enough to give me a vivid illustration of grace today just before I started writing this devotion.  After eating dinner by myself in a Lexington restaurant, my waitress brought my check.  I was shocked to find a note on my bill stating that it was already paid for by someone else in the restaurant that I never saw.  That had never happened to me in my 52 years!  That is exactly what Christ has done for each of us.  He paid our debt by dying on the cross in our place.

A single meal can only sustain any person for a short time.  We require food and water daily to stay healthy.  In the same way, a single act or expression of grace to another person is not enough.  As we receive God’s grace anew each day, we have to be constant conduits of God’s grace to all those around us.  I believe that through His divine help, we can.

Craig Martin

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

