Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

The Definition of Grace

When you google the word ‘Grace’ you get quite a few definitions.  “Simple elegance”, “giving one honor by your presence”, and of course, the most relevant one, “the free and unmerited favor of God, as manifested in the salvation of sinners and the bestowal of blessings.”  Free and unmerited.  It’s so hard to believe these words sometimes, isn’t it?  Because of Jesus and what He did for us, we are able to come to God in His favor even as our human selves, so torn by sin.

Let’s think about it though, in terms of child/parent (it’s what I do best, right?)  As a parent, we continually see those little beings, that are half us, do things that are completely wrong.  They hit their brother/sister, they lie straight to your face, or as they get older, they make sinful decisions.  But what do we do, as parents?  We forgive them.  Completely.  My mother used to get angry at me but within an hour she wasn’t mad anymore.  It was like I had never done anything wrong.  Did she remember what I had done, sure, but she had such unconditional love for me that she never felt the need to stay upset.  I too, let go of my anger and judgement when my children misbehave, although I tend to fester a little longer than my mother.  I’m working on it.  But my point is that as the child/parent relationship relies on unconditional love, so too does our relationship with God our Holy Father.  He made us in his image, and we are each His loving child.  He sees our sin as painful, yes, but forgivable.  Because He sees each of us in this way, should we not extend our unconditional love to one another?  Should we not extend that grace to those we may not know, but who have sinned as we have sinned, and show them God’s love here on Earth?  Certainly this is no easy task, but I believe it’s something that we must strive for as Christians to honor the love that God gives each of us so freely.

Lesley Tipton

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

