Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

How Will We Multiply? By the Grace of God.

MULTIPLY.  It’s not just our theme for 2017; it’s a goal we’ve set before ourselves.  What can we do as Christ-followers to multiply so that our church body here at Tates Creek can last, thrive, and continue to make disciples until Jesus comes again?  It’s a daunting task.  Sometimes it feels overwhelming.  I’m just one person.  What can I really do to multiply our church?  What can I really do to affect future generations?

If this task were left up to me, it would fail.  But it’s not left up to me.  Some people have such a charismatic personality that they can grow a “church” all by themselves.  There are some who have such an extreme work-ethic and such a laser-focus that they can build a following by sheer force of will.

I’m not one of those people.  But I think that is exactly the way God wants it, because that is not how God builds a church, or how God has promised to sustain it.

Jesus said, “I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.” (Matthew 16:18, ESV)  Paul wrote, “I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the growth.” (1 Corinthians 3:6, ESV)

This multiplication is only going to happen if God does it.  It’s only by his grace.  And that means we need to pray.  Lately I’ve been praying a very specific prayer and I ask that you would begin praying it with me in your own life.  The prayer is this: “God, please put people in my path who need to hear the gospel of your Son.  And help me to step up and share the gospel with them when the opportunity comes.”

God is sovereign.  Nothing happens in this world outside of him causing or permitting it.  If that’s the case, shouldn’t we be trusting in Him more to bring about the multiplication that we believe is His will for our church?

If you’re like me and you desire to bring more people to Christ, but you just don’t know how to get started… start with prayer.  Ask God to bring you people with whom you can share the gospel.  Ask Him to steer every day conversations toward spiritual things.  Ask Him to open up hearts (Acts 16:14) and open up doors for the gospel (Acts 14:27; Colossians 4:3).  He is sovereign and He can do it.  Believe in Him!

John Davis

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

