Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

The Power of Grace ~ Ephesians 2:1-10

The Father’s Love

But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive in Christ even when we were dead in transgressions — it is by grace you have been saved.  What a promise!

Some years ago a country/western song said it like this:

    “I got sent home from school one day with a shiner on my eye.

  Fightin’ was against the rules and it didn’t matter why.

    When dad got home I told that story just like I rehearsed

    and stood there on those tremblin’ knees and waited for the worst.

       And daddy said, “Let me tell you a secret about a fathers love,

    A secret that my daddy said was just between us.

    He said, Daddies don’t just love their children every now and then.

    It’s a love without end, amen, it’s a love without end, amen.

       Last night I dreamed I died and stood outside those pearly gates

    When suddenly I realized there must be some mistake.

    If they know half the things I’ve done, they’ll never let me in.

    And then somewhere from the other side I heard those words again.

       Let me tell you a secret about a father’s love,  daddies don’t just love

    their children every now and then.  It’s a love without end, amen.”

 

The apostle John, who understood the love of God as well as any man could,

reminds us in I John 3:1 “See what love the Father has lavished on us, that we

should be called the children of God!”  And that is what we are.

We all believe in justice, but in the end it is grace, mercy and pardon that we

hope for.  What is amazing about God’s grace is that when the hammer was about

to fall on us, we were pulled aside and it fell on God’s son.  It is truly

wonderful to know about our Father’s love.  It is a love without end.  AMEN

 

Ron Fey

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

