Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Time for a Check-up

Going to the doctor was never one of my favorite things to do, but I was unfortunately reminded how important it is to regularly go for checkups.  Back in 2012 I was having what I thought were back spasms.  I tried to self-medicate for a long time and it never worked.  I continued to have serious health problems with no relief.  I never went to the doctor though to have them help me figure out what was going on in my body.  In March of 2012, I was on a trip with some students when something bad happened.  I was rushed to the hospital with a serious health condition.  Amy said she knew it was serious when the doctor walked in the room, turned the TV off, and asked her to sit down so he could talk to her.  I spent the next ten days in a hospital waiting for my body to recover enough so that I could have surgery.  I learned a lot through that life event and it has changed my awareness of how important it is monitor your health.     I think the same can be said in regards to church health and how important it is to be aware of our spiritual health.  Far too often, we as churches ignore the warning signs and do not come in for spiritual checkups.  Unfortunately, what happens is that you end up like me, in need of emergency surgery because the warning signs were ignored.  It seems we frequently hear about churches that lose sight of the importance of spiritual healthiness.  I am reminded of this strong warning out of Revelation 3.    “Write this letter to the angel of the church in Sardis.  This is the message from the one who has the sevenfold Spirit of God and the seven stars: “I know all the things you do, and that you have a reputation for being alive—but you are dead.  Wake up!  Strengthen what little remains, for even what is left is almost dead.  I find that your actions do not meet the requirements of my God.  Go back to what you heard and believed at first; hold to it firmly.  Repent and turn to me again.  If you don’t wake up, I will come to you suddenly, as unexpected as a thief.”  Revelation 3:1-3   I think Tommy’s series right now is a great reminder that it’s time for a checkup!

~ Geoff           geoff@tatescreek.org

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

