Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Change Your Spiritual Health

What defines your health?  Is it entirely based on your physical appearance?  If so, I have met a lot of people that look very healthy on the outside, but I can’t imagine how torn up their insides are?  Their habits are beyond terrible as they eat junk food all day, drinking pop non-stop, and are constantly consuming things that can’t possibly make you a healthy person.  On the reverse side, I know people that count their calories, drink healthy liquids, and exercise constantly but it doesn’t seem that way by their appearance.  So, if outside appearance doesn’t determine your health what does?    For years I have determined my health in how I feel.  Watching the numbers go up on my scale at home hasn’t always helped me determine if I am unhealthy.  However, when I do feel sluggish and tired, not motivated to play with my kids or enjoy other hobbies, I go on a crash course diet.  One physical therapist actually told me that my system makes me one of the worst kind of athletes to work with.  I took that as a good sign- she still considered me an athlete.     All joking aside, it seems the beginning of every year we make a determination to change our physical health.  From my experience you can’t change your physical health without changing your exercise and eating habits. Another element though that we most often forget is our spiritual health.  For me they all go hand in hand! If my spiritual tank isn’t full then I am less likely to workout, eat healthy, and be active.     Each time after doing a teaching call, I try to bring the person and family with whom I am meeting back to a simple ‘to do’ plan for after their baptism.  My encouragement to them is to take a look at what Jesus says in Matthew 22:37-40.  I believe what Jesus says in these short verses is an incredible guide to knowing if we are healthy.  In fact, by Jesus’ definition these two elements wrap up all the law and the words of the prophets.  It is to these two things that I come back when I know I am not healthy physically or spiritually.  So what are they… And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.  This is the great and first commandments. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”   What if we used these two elements in our daily walk to guide us in becoming a healthier Christian?  What if we used them to guide our church to being healthier as well?

~ Matt     matt@tatescreek.org

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

