Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

The Power of Multiplication

Math was never one of my strong suits growing up. I was never good at it and it only got harder for me as I progressed through school. I always struggled to grasp the concepts and it just never made sense to me. So obviously, I am no mathematician. My high school math teachers would laugh at the thought that I would have anything good to contribute to a conversation about math. But maybe it takes a simple-minded, mathematically-challenged Youth Pastor to see the more obvious.
Basic elementary math is made up of four different processes involving numbers: addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division. Addition and Multiplication always increased the sum while subtraction and division caused a reduction. When it comes to the Kingdom of God we want to increase, and the greatest increases come when we multiply.
I once heard that addition is good, but multiplication is better. Addition produces incremental growth, but multiplication produces exponential growth.
When I look in scripture, I see that Paul gets to the heart of this idea of multiplication. In a letter he writes to Timothy, he says, “What you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses, entrust to faithful men who will be able to teach others also.” (2 Timothy 2:2) I see this as one of the key verses in the Bible pointing towards this idea of multiplying.
God invites all of us to join in this mission to multiply. His expansion plan for His people has always been accomplished through multiplication. As you journey through scripture from the very beginning with Adam all the way through the gospels and beyond, you will find this emphasis on multiplication. Addition is never the strategy God uses to populate the world with His followers. Multiplication is the tactical pattern the Spirit flows through to reach the lost.
As we walk into 2017, it is my prayer that as a church we would embrace the idea of Multiply. May we plow forward seeking to become Kingdom Workers focused on the harvest, who desire to be high-impact multiplying churches. I am excited that, as a church, we are striving to do this. Would you join us on this journey?

Geoff Lawson

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

