Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

The Joy of Eating

I think it is no secret that I enjoy eating and it is an activity I share with many others in our church. Of course, churches are known for their fellowship dinners when people bring their “specialty” dishes for all to share. Many of us want those recipes.
Being single, I eat out more than most, although I am finding that eating at home is becoming more of a norm for me. When I do eat out, I quite often sit at the counter since I don’t want to take an entire table that might be needed for a larger group, and usually I can be seated quickly. I enjoy meeting people and sitting at a counter, since one can easily meet and chat with others sitting there. A typical conversation may start with a question such as, “Are you from Lexington?” When it comes to the question, “What do you do for a living?”, then it can get interesting. For instance, most people are surprised when I tell them that I am a worship minister and where I serve. Most people know where our building is located, but have not visited a worship service. If they are using foul language that usually stops when I say the word “minister”! It can also open the door to conversations about the church and if they are members of another church. Most people are kind and appear interested in what I do and I try to inquire about their interests as well.
Taking the risk of sharing what I do can open doors! I remember when I was young and was afraid that someone might ask what I do. How would I answer them? Would I be embarrassed? But, as I grew older, my willingness to be open also grew to the point of being able to openly share that I enjoyed being a worship minister. Getting to know people casually in that environment also gives me the opportunity to invite them to worship with us.
As we approach these messages on the topic, “Eats with Sinners” we must realize that we are all sinners. Jesus is the only One who was not a sinner. So, all of our encounters are with sinners, even though most may be with Christians. We have all sinned, but we also have a wonderful story to share with other sinners as to how our lives were changed when we encountered the Sinless One. What is your story?

Tell me the story of Jesus, write on my heart every word;
Tell me the story most precious, sweetest that ever was heard.

I love to tell the story! ‘Twill be my theme in glory —
To tell the old, old story of Jesus and His love.

Don Seevers

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

