Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Sharing the Greater Story

I remember when I first started in Student Ministry several years ago, I sat down with a mentor who was a veteran in Student Ministry. We met regularly and I always listened intently when he spoke because he was full of wisdom and knowledge. One day, he shared a helpful tidbit that has stuck out in my mind ever since. “People don’t know how much you care until you show them.” It’s a simple thought but also so profound. That very pattern was modeled by Jesus to his disciples and eventually a world of people hungering and thirsting for something far greater. He was more worried about saving souls than saving face. You see, for far too long we’ve been drawn into this world that says there is a right and a wrong way to share this “Greater Story.” There is nothing wrong with being strategic in our approach to evangelism. I simply believe the best strategy is to meet people where they are and connect them with your own changed and revolutionized life! When a person is consumed with and in love with Jesus, it doesn’t take long for that person to start talking about the One they are so committed to.
As Tommy begins this new series, I am excited to see how students and adults can connect this “Greater Story” to the events of their lives. I am excited to see what happens when we choose to carry out our mission to lead people towards this “Greater story.” As I begin my time here at Tates Creek, I am excited to be part of a movement of students who are willing to invite their un-churched friends to things we are doing (events, regular gatherings, etc.). It doesn’t stop there though, we must be willing to engage people where they are and build relationships so they know we care! My primary “strategy” is pretty simple for the Student Ministry: I help my students discover who Jesus is, and to fall in love with Him and His message through building intentional relationships that plant seeds. I am connecting them to a greater story.

Geoff Lawson

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

