Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

We Shall All Be Changed

What a true statement! All we have to do is look back at old photos of ourselves to see how much we have changed over the years. I had a reality check a few years ago when I posted a picture of me along with a ladies trio I accompanied from 41 years ago on our Choir Room bulletin board. When I asked people “who is the guy in that photo” hardly anyone recognized me. When I look at it, I see myself as I would like to be again…a lot more hair, dark hair, younger, and much thinner! I am confident that most of us feel that way when we see old pictures. (The inserted picture is of me about 20 years ago!)
As I read through the texts that we will be addressing over the next several weeks in our sermons, I am drawn to Romans 12:1-2; Romans 13:11-14 and Romans 14:9-12. These passages focus on the changes that take place in our lives as we follow and are obedient to Christ, but these scriptures remind us of what is ahead for the believer. We are changed now and we will be changed eternally. Living a “changed” life is important now because it allows us to live a “changed” life forever!
About 25 years ago, there was a popular choir anthem, that I used in several churches, composed by Linda L. Johnson and Tom Fettke. The text is taken from I Corinthians 15. As you read through that text in your Bible, please also enjoy the text of this anthem.

In only a moment, in the twinkling of an eye,
At the sound of the trumpet, we will see Him come.
In only a moment, we’ll behold Him in the sky,
And the Lord Himself will quickly take us home.

(Refrain) We shall all be changed,
Caught up to heaven in a cloud of glory,
We shall all be changed, transformed in victory.
Death, where is thy sting? God conquered death and hell.
We shall all be changed. We shall be changed.

In only a moment, Jesus Christ will call His own,
With the voice of the angel and the trump of God.
In only a moment, we’ll be raised from earth to heav’n,
And will live in peace forever with the Lord. (Repeat Refrain)
Changed!

Don Seevers

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

