Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Have You Been Changed?

Jesus changes everything. That statement is so true isn’t it? I know he has changed my life. I’d like to share a little bit of my testimony with you.
I grew up in rural Southern Indiana with my mom, dad, and younger sister. We went to church occasionally at a little Methodist church out in the country. On a good Sunday, there would be 15-20 people in attendance, the majority of which were members of my extended family. We went once or twice a month starting when I was about 8 or 9 years old. This was my first church experience.
When I got to middle school, I made some good friends who were involved in youth groups at their churches. We had “kid’s church” at the Methodist church during the sermon, but I had never been to youth group before. My friends would invite me to come to their youth groups, but I was a very shy, introverted kid, so I would always decline or say “maybe” and then come up with an excuse later as to why I couldn’t go. Well, one of my good friends kept inviting me relentlessly, and I finally decided to go with him, if only to get him off my back, haha! From the very first time I went to youth group, I loved it! I felt like I was meeting this Jesus person I had heard about in a very real way. I started attending and getting involved in two different youth groups at local churches where my friends belonged.
It was at a Sunday night service at one of these churches, Zoah Christian Church, that I was led by the Spirit to stand up and walk to the front to give my life to Jesus during the invitation. I was baptized that very night. That was November 6th, 1994. I was 14 years old. Jesus changed everything.
I would later go away to college at Butler University in Indianapolis to pursue a degree in pharmacy. While I was there for a semester, the Lord made it very clear to me that this was not the path I was to travel. Through His leading, I made my way (somehow) to Cincinnati Bible College and found my calling in the ministry of His gospel. I never, ever, expected to end up where I am today. Jesus really did change everything for me.

Mike Allen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

