Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Jesus is Greater Than Fear – Esther 5

At the beginning of Esther chapter five, we find Queen Esther standing in the inner court of the palace. She is fully aware that she is risking her life by being in view of the king on his throne, without an invitation. What was behind her decision to break the rules and take such a risk? Was it the faith and influence of her uncle, the intercession of the Jewish people that were fasting and praying for her, or her own obedience in fasting and prayer before God? It was God’s willingness to work through her and her willingness to be open to His call.
Recently, I mentioned to a friend how I really hate taking risks. Her response was to laugh and say, “No kidding?” Anyone that knows me, knows that fear is a major struggle for me. There have been times that I have been successful over fear and other times when I have hung my head in frustration, wishing I were stronger.
Many Bible passages can offer encouragement when we are faced with fear. Matthew 28:16-20 says, “But the eleven disciples proceeded to Galilee, to the mountain which Jesus had designated. When they saw Him, they worshiped Him; but some were doubtful. And Jesus came up and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”
What I notice here is that even though some of the disciples were doubtful, Jesus gave them all the command to go and make disciples. He also said to all of them that He would be with them. That gives me hope knowing that He knows there are many times when I am fearful and doubting yet He still wants to use me and He will be with me. He is greater than our fear!

Phyllis Eversole

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

