Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

A Mother’s Faith

I vividly remember the morning I received a phone call from my cousin. She urgently said, “Tommy, you need to get to Zella, and you need to get to Zella quick!” I asked what was wrong. Then, my cousin said, “Your mother-in-law and your sister-in-law have just been killed in an automobile accident!” As soon as I hung up the phone, my father-in-law, Mr. Butler called. He shared the same news. I remember driving to the place where Zella worked. Zella was in a meeting. I remember walking into the room sharing that I needed to speak with Zella immediately. I remember our drive back to her Mom & Dad’s house. What a loss ~ mother and sister in one accident! The only one left to care for her Dad was Zella. I remember Zella making the decision to leave her place of work so that she could provide care for her Dad. However, when she resigned, her place of employment offered her part time work. During the next five years, Zella would travel to her Dad’s home at least once a week and sometimes twice a week to cook and clean for him and do his grocery shopping. Our children, Elizabeth and Joel, were very small at the time. Five years later, we moved Zella’s father into our home to care for him. He was a kind Christian gentleman. After taking care of him for three years and three months, he passed away from heart disease. During all of this and even now, Zella’s strong faith has never wavered or faltered once.
When it comes to the month of May, we think of our mothers and reflect on their hearts and the impact they greatly made in our lives. However, this time, I want to share with you the impact and blessing that Zella is to me and to our children.
Another attribute of Zella that I must share is her persistent selflessness. She is always thinking of others. I remember when our children were small that Zella would not purchase clothes for herself, even though she needed them, because she said the children needed clothes and that I needed clothes for ministry. I remember one time when our finances were tight, she continued wearing glasses because we did not have the finances to purchase contacts. She always puts herself out there to meet the needs of others. Multiple times, Zella asks me about our church people. She is always reaching out to encourage and to express love. Proverbs 31:10-11 describes Zella well, “An excellent wife, who can find? For her worth is far above jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her.”

One very blessed husband!

Tommy Simpson

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

