Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Look Within First – Romans 2

2016? Already? Where did 2015 go? I know that the older I get, the faster time flies. As we enter the New Year we may have mixed feelings. If 2015 was a year of physical, emotional, or spiritual hardship, then we are very eager to put that behind us and move on. If 2015 was a great year for us, we may be tempted to dwell in the past.

None of us know how many more days we will be given. I was very blessed that I did not have a heart attack 6 months ago and was able to get some needed cardiac intervention in the form of a stent. Psalm 90:12 states “Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom”. Numbering our days aright is our challenge from God to face each new day that God gives us from God’s perspective. Romans 2:6-8 tells us “God will give to each person according to what he has done. To those who by persistence in doing good seek glory, honor and immortality, he will give eternal life. But for those who are self seeking and who reject the truth and follow evil, there will be wrath and anger”.

God loves us enough to give us free will. We can choose each day to follow and serve Him by doing what is good and right or we can choose to be selfish and reject God’s leading in our life. We have to look inside our hearts each day and offer Him the throne and crucify self. I challenge all of us to share Paul’s testimony in Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Craig Martin

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

