Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

What does the Bible Really Say?

When I was a child I had a really neat, full-color, picture Bible.  I carried it to school with me on occassion, always had it with me at church, and used it often to preach from.  In fact, when I was very small my dad built a pulpit for me and a pew for my sister.  During his sermon, I would  lean on my dad’s words and take very detailed notes. When we returned home after church and lunch, my sister and I would play church.

From my early ages I learned the truth came from the Bible.  I was never taught that the world was pure evil and I needed to live in a bubble to be protected.  The more time I spent in the world growing up the more I learned how much truth is in God’s words.  I learned songs like Jesus Loves Me, The B I B L E, Jesus Loves the Little Children, and Amazing Grace.  I learned verses like John 3:16-17.  In fact, I learned that my life and direction was dependent on God’s Word.  When I grew up though I made new friends.  My world view grew in an enormous way.  I took classes about world religions and learned that other people around the world base their truth in other books.  As I shared respectful and sometimes heated discussions with some of these people (including family and friends) it became even more clear to me how TRUE God’s Word is.

In the midst of all of this though, I started some bad habits.  It started one day when I just tossed my Bible at my friend as a game.  I was quickly corrected for this and told that the Bible isn’t a pillow to be tossed around.  As the bad habit wasn’t corrected, I found myself relying on my own knowledge of God’s Word in debates instead of quoting chapters and verses.  I started to use a phrase that I had probably heard from others more times than the words, “I love you.”  I started to say the phrase, “The Bible says…”

Then, I studied the temptation of Jesus.  I noticed that three times Jesus’ defense to the devil’s attacks were from scripture.  I wondered to myself, “when the devil attacks me personally do I depend on my own knowledge and strength to defend, or are the scriptures my defense.”

What does the Bible really say?  This next school year in Uptown we are going to find out as we suit up for battle and learn how to protect, defend, and fight against the devil’s attacks.  We are going to put on the FULL ARMOR OF GOD!  To get us started on this challenge, consider these words from Jesus…
 Jesus replied, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ’Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”   Matthew 22:37-40

Matt Lee

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

