Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Person of Truth

As a UK medical school neuroscience professor, my work involves teaching medical and graduate students about how the nervous system functions and what happens when it becomes diseased or injured.  It is obviously essential that I am dedicated to presenting information in my lectures that is as accurate, up to date, and as truthful as I can make it.  In addition, much of my time is spent directing laboratory research which is focused on the discovery of drug treatments that, when administered to patients after a traumatic brain or spinal cord injury, will act to preserve the damaged, but initially surviving, nervous tissue from undergoing degeneration.  The more nerve cells and brain circuits that are saved during the first hours determines how much neurological functional recovery will take place.  In my published research papers and oral presentations it is critical that I remain dedicated to conveying the truth concerning my findings, whether positive or negative.  Indeed, during the training of my graduate students who will carry on the efforts of my generation, one of my repeated instructions to them is that they never compromise their integrity; that they are always honest about the details of their experiments and results.  However, sometimes the results of our experiments are confusing making our ability to decide whether or not the drug works in protecting injured nervous tissue uncertain, requiring us to do additional studies before giving up.

As a Christian, in sharp contrast to my sometimes uncertain research results, I am comforted that in the most important area of my life, I can place my full certainty in what Jesus, my Lord and Savior, has presented to me in John 14:6 – “I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”  In other words, the only path to salvation and eternal life is through my belief that Jesus is who He says He is.  His declaration is as unchangeably true and faithful as it was 2000 years ago. Jesus was and will always remain the Person of Truth.

Ed Hall

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

