Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Prayer

Psalm 119:129-131
“Your statutes are wonderful; therefore I obey them. The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple. I open my mouth and pant, longing for your commands.”

When I first learned about prayer, that lesson came from a 7th grade classmate’s gift of a plastic box labeled “Daily Bread”.  This little box contained individual cards with a scripture on each one, front and back.  Some of the cards had verses from the Book of Psalms.  I realized that so many emotions were expressed in this book and that reading them out loud became my prayers.  Being able to release those emotions to God helped me to be comfortable with praying.

As I have grown in my Christian walk, I have learned that prayer is a two-way conversation.  I need to listen as well as speak to God.  The problem I faced was personalizing the Scriptures.  Daily readings seemed like stories or sermons given to the Jews and early Christians, not me.  Things began to fall into place when I started reading Proverbs. I felt as if God was instructing me about his ways that would honor him.  I finally began to feel the full experience of prayer.  That experience has encouraged me to “pray without ceasing”.

As of now, prayer has become the foundation of my faith.  As a tree needs deep roots to survive storms, my faith needs these deep roots of prayer as its foundation to continue my daily walk with Him.

Peggy Crawford

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

