Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

The Model Prayer – Matthew 6:9-13

When I began my journey with the Lord (a long while back), I heard many sermons and Sunday school lessons that were good but overwhelming. As a new Christian, reflecting on what was being taught and what I read in scripture during my own quiet times, my thoughts were, “No way. How could I possibly do all this. This is overwhelming, complicated, and I am a leaky vessel!”

I read, prayed, pondered, and struggled with God’s word and what He expected of me. In His Word I learned that what matters most is the heart. What does that mean? Well, after much prayer, pondering and so forth, I believe that Christianity is, in a nutshell, your attitude and motives toward God, His Word, and His people. The Sermon on the Mount is a good example.

In the 1970’s I had the privilege of being a youth sponsor. The young people had an acronym that they used a lot at the time, K.I.S.S. (keep it simple, stupid). I found that helpful in that when I listened to future presentations of God’s Word and when I was in need of God’s direction, my thought would be, “keep it simple”. What is my attitude, what are my motives concerning the topic?

When the disciples asked the Lord to teach them to pray, His instructions seemed to reflect that. Keep it simple and real.

The Model Prayer (The Lord’s Prayer) reflects that. May I paraphrase please?

Heavenly Father may your holy name be honored in all I say and do.
May your will be done here on earth as it is in heaven.
Give me each day the spiritual and physical food needed.
Forgive me for the sins I have committed against you and help me to
forgive others who have wronged me.
Keep me from temptation and save be from evil.

Judy Clark

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

