Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Prayer

Oh boy! The first month of my internship at Tates Creek we are talking about the Holy Spirit, then my second month we will be talking about prayer. What did I get myself into?

Prayer is an amazing thing, isn’t it? Prayer is a CONVERSATION with God. I remember when I was little, my parents had me pray all of the time. I used to pray the best prayer and use the biggest words I could to amaze people with how “spiritual” I was. And you know what, I was good at it too. Isn’t that terrible? It was like having a presentation “to” God for the purpose of glorifying me. It was not a CONVERSATION with God.

To be honest, I do that sometimes even today. When I was a senior in High School at Martha Layne Collins in Shelbyville, I got to pray for my high school graduation (which may or may not have been illegal because it was a public school but we decided to run with it anyway). For some reason, the prayer I prayed at the graduation was probably the worst prayer I have ever prayed in my life. After the graduation my dad asked me, “what was that all about?” Looking back on that day, the reason why it was an awful prayer was because I was presenting. I wanted everybody to see how good a prayer I could pray instead of having a conversation with my Heavenly Father. That story reminds me a lot of the story in Luke 18 with the Pharisee and the Tax Collector. The Pharisee prayed where everybody could see him and thanked God that he wasn’t a sinner. The Tax Collector beat his breast saying, “have mercy on me, God, for I am a sinner” Luke 18:13. Jesus said that the tax collector left justified. So in prayer with me, do as the Tax Collector did and put God in his rightful place as ruler over everything, even your heart, and put yourself in the rightful place as a sinner saved by grace through faith.

Conor Doyle

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

