Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Ministry of the Holy Spirit in Christian Life – Romans 8:14-17

It was a hot August Sunday night in a small country church in Garrard County. A revival was going on. A young man by the name of Connie Bruce Carpenter (my Garrard County name) accepted Christ. We did not have a baptistry in our church. I remember our part-time pastor said these words as I was lowered into a local pond “I now baptize you in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.”

I heard or knew little of the Holy Spirit for many years. Then a major brokenness hit my personal life in my late twenties at the height of my worldly success. I did not know where to turn. It was then through renewed study of John 14-16 I found a person who could truly help me to life success again – The Holy Spirit.

You see, the Holy Spirit is a person who lives in my spiritual heart. He is a member of a team with my spiritual Father and Jesus. He enters my spiritual heart when I choose to have surrendered faith.

His greatest desire is to become my best friend and help me be successful especially in the areas of love, joy, peace, and self-control. He operates like the wind and helps me day by day even though I never see Him.

I must work with the Holy Spirit in developing this special friendship. I must be willing to cleanse often of my errors of the flesh. I must communicate with Him often about everything in my life. I must saturate my mind with life guidelines from His book.

My greatest desire, as I near my 70th birthday, is to learn, day by day, how to live in the power of the Holy Spirit and then help others do the same, not by what I say but by what I do.

Thank you Father and Jesus for sending the Holy Spirit into my life. He is a special blessing to me every day.

Bruce Carpenter

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

