Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Jesus is the Bread of Life – John 6:22-71

Recently I got to know some Nigerian Christians. What I quickly noticed was their lack of many material things that I take for granted like clothes, a car, or even spending money for lunch. I soon learned that one of them had lost a baby last November and all of them had lost Christian brothers and sisters to the terrorist group Boko Haram.
But in the midst of this want and loss, I could not help but be drawn to them because of what they had in abundance: utter and unmistakable trust in God. They talked about their relationship with God as openly and easily as if He were an ever-present friend. Prayers in which God clearly answered “no” were accepted cheerfully as His wisdom for their lives, and they immediately began seeking His true direction. Even in the smallest of life’s circumstances, they were confident that God was interested and working on their behalf. These Christians exhibited visible joy for life, openness, sincerity, and a desire for authentic friendship with brothers and sisters in Christ.
Their lives reminded me of what the Bible records in John 6:57-58, 60-64: “Just as the living Father sent me and I live because of the Father, so the one who feeds on me will live because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Your forefathers ate manna and died, but he who feeds on this bread will live forever….On hearing it, many of his disciples said, ‘This is a hard teaching. Who can accept it?’ Aware that his disciples were grumbling about this, Jesus said to them, ‘Does this offend you? What if you see the Son of Man ascend to where he was before! The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you are spirit and they are life. Yet there are some of you who do not believe.’”

Jesus’ words are hard teaching for me as an American Christian, but what are they for these Nigerian Christians? They are the Bread of Life, and I think Jesus is inviting all of us to join in the feast!

Monica Kennedy

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

