Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Without Prayer?

As a self-test of sorts, I recently tried to go through an entire day without utilizing the privilege of prayer. Needless to say, it was harder than I thought it would be and by day’s end, found myself exhausted from trying to avoid praying, not to mention, painfully lonely. I discovered that prayer is as much second nature to me as breathing but unlike breathing, it is a gift that I never take for granted.

Growing up in a loving Christian minister’s home, I was virtually surrounded by positive examples of what it means to lead a productive and healthy prayer life and how vital it is to the Christian walk. As I left the protective cocoon of my younger days and began to face the realities of life, my prayer life also transitioned from the immature “I want” and “I need” to prayers of thankfulness and praise to the Lord who continually sustains through all trials. Entering the senior phase of my life, I’ve discovered that just as we never cease to grow in our faith, our view of prayer also matures. I’ve been quite humbled by this revelation that has blessed me with a contentment and peace I would not have thought possible.

What does prayer mean to me? It is my outlet for praising and adoration, my comfort in times of sorrow and discouragement, my stabilizer when all seems out of control and my “hot line” to the Savior who never fails or leaves me. How rich I am!

Mary Brown

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

