Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Following the Way

I am directionally challenged. To me, GPS is one of the greatest inventions known to man. I wouldn’t try to go to any unknown destination without written directions or a GPS unit of some sort for fear of becoming completely lost! This relates to my faith in that I must rely completely on Jesus, his example, his Spirit, and his Word to guide me in my life. When I try to follow any other guide, I always end up lost.

When I think about what Jesus says in John 14:6, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me”, I think of Jesus as “The Way” in a few different senses. The first is that Jesus literally has provided a bridge between earth and Heaven. He has provided us access to the Father through his death, burial, and resurrection. We are sons and daughters of the one true King. So Jesus is literally “The Way” in the sense that he has brought us back into a right relationship with God. Jesus is the way in which God saw fit to redeem us and bring us back to himself.

Jesus is also “The Way” in that He has provided us a better “way” to live life. A way of life that is different than a worldly life. In fact, in the book of Acts, we see that even the first century folks, specifically Saul (Paul) and the Pharisees, were calling Christianity “the Way” (Acts 9:2). It must have been obvious this group of first century Christians were living in a different way than the people around them. Jesus’s way is certainly better than our way!

Lastly, Jesus is “The Way” in that we must follow Him. He literally shows us “the way.” I’m sure many of us have tried our own way only to fall on our faces and realize we are lost, but we come back and follow Him because we know He is leading us in the right direction.

Jesus made a way for us, He showed us the way, and He is still leading the way for us. If we simply follow Him, we will end up at the right destination.

Brad Haggard

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

