Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

What the Angel Tree Means to Me

The Angel Tree Ministry has been a blessing for the families of the Russell Cave Community for many years. We have so many children in need that truly benefit from it. As a single mother, it has been difficult raising my daughter on my own and Christmas time is tough because it is important for me to pay all of my “necessary bills” (such as electric, water, gas, housing, food etc.) first before I can do any shopping for Christmas.

I am a very independent person so I don’t ask for help often. But years ago, someone said to me “you need to learn to accept the blessings that God gives to you”. It really made me think because so many times I pray for help then continue to try to do things on my own strength instead of God’s strength. Being a receiver of the Angel Tree Ministry has been a humbling experience for me because the love and spirit of giving has come through for me many years when I really needed help. I have such beautiful memories of my daughter’s excited little face as she opened the Angel Tree gifts under the tree with her name on them and it was so comforting to know that she was happy and blessed beyond measure.

So, what does the Angel Tree Ministry mean to me? Well, the scriptures tell us in Hebrews 13:16 (NIV) “And do not forget to do good and to share with others, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.” The Angel Tree Ministry has done just this. Over the years, many of the Tates Creek Christian Church families have willingly sacrificed and shared with those who are less fortunate and I know that God is pleased. I just want to say THANKS SO MUCH to all of you for being a blessing to my family and to the families of the Russell Cave Community that you have touched over the years. We do appreciate you and may your giving spirit of love and kindness continue to touch hearts during this holiday season and always.

Taylor’s Mom

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

