Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Who is Leading?

The goal of our day trip to Boston with our kids was to walk the Freedom Trail. We found it very helpful to have a red brick path to follow and experienced guides in our daughter and son-in-law. Sometime after lunch I found myself leading the way, where I am generally the most comfortable. I quickly became distracted from my job of following the path by slow moving pedestrians. When I saw an opening, I took it and felt victorious. It wasn’t long before I heard David call out from behind me. I turned, saw him point at his feet and heard him say, “You lost the trail!” Completely unaware, I rejoined our group on the red brick path. Needless to say, I decided to stay behind Adam from then on. He set the direction and dealt with any obstacles and I had a much more enjoyable experience. By following his lead and making sure I stayed in close proximity to the group, it was easier to focus on the objective of the day.

During this month when we focus on our blessings, I find myself thankful for the direction that I receive from God’s Word. (Psalm 119:105) Increasingly, I appreciate and try to open myself up to the leading of the Holy Spirit. (John 16:13) I am grateful that God has led me gradually away from a self-sufficient view of life to a healthier view of the importance of community. There are many opportunities that TCCC offers to meet that need for community. If you are not plugged in to an intimate group where you can be known, supported, and encouraged and in turn be that to someone else, I encourage you to do so. Sometimes it may mean taking a step away from what is comfortable, but could lead to greater growth and peace. “Let the peace of Christ keep you in tune with each other, in step with each other. None of this going off and doing your own thing. And cultivate thankfulness.” (Colossians 3:15 MSG)

Phyllis Eversole

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

