Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Do You Follow the Rules?

It’s funny to think about the rules and habits we make up for ourselves. “I have to wake up no later than 7:30,” “I need coffee to function in the morning,” “The kids need to be at practice on time”. I’ve been known, more than once, to have some kind of silly “law” I’ve made up for myself and if it is broken it’s like my whole world is turned upside down. That’s a little exaggeration, but it does seem like these rules we’ve established in our lives control us. “I have to get to Sunday School on time,” “I can’t listen to that music,” “I don’t drive through that part of town”. This isn’t to say that some rules we make up are bad, but I find it interesting how much we are committed to these things.

In Colossians, Paul is writing to a group of believers that are really good at following “The Rules”. Colossians 2:23 “These rules seem wise because they require strong devotion, pious self-denial, and severe bodily discipline. But they provide no help in conquering a person’s evil desires”.

Paul is not saying rules are bad, he is emphasizing that the motive behind the rule might be. We learn throughout Colossians that we did not gain salvation by our own human efforts, so keeping these rules we make up will not help in gaining salvation. Christ freely gave us the gift of salvation and all we can do, by our own effort, is accept it and believe it. I want to challenge you to take a look at these rules in your life and if they’re in place to help your walk with Christ or if they’re in place to make you look like a ‘good Christian’. I encourage you to read and study Colossians, and remember that we truly have everything we need in Christ.

Justin Miller

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

