Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Constantly Seeking

If you would have asked me, right after high school where I would be in four years, interning at Tates Creek Christian Church would not have been on my radar. June 1, 2014 was my first Sunday, which happened to be graduation Sunday. As I started thinking about my graduation Sunday, I remember who was there, the people who congratulated me, and I remember what was on the screen telling what I desired to be when I “grew up.” I remember being there just four years ago. However, six months past that point I forgot that Jesus is what matters most in life.

When I started college, I quickly fell into the “American Dream” where I desired to become a
“self-made” man. I fell into self-idolatry, arrogantly thinking the places I’d been and the places I wanted to go were going to be feats that I conquered by myself. But God got a hold of me. Then I realized that nothing mattered more than living for Christ Jesus. The Apostle Paul talks in Philippians about how he counts everything, including the greatest gains of the flesh, rubbish compared to knowing Christ Jesus. So I just want to remind the recent high school and college graduates, as well as everyone else, that the world gives us lots of options. Options look satisfying, but in the end, they all fail in comparison. Therefore, strive to seek Jesus earnestly every day.

The author of Hebrews said this in Hebrews 12:1-2, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.”

There will be different distractions that will get in our way, but don’t lose sight of the one who gave us hope and life. Never lose sight of that.

Kyle Knarr

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

