Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Decals, Bumper Stickers, & License Plates

If you know me well, then you know that I am not a fan of “things” that people place on their cars. First of all, they can be a distraction to drivers; secondly, they can be vulgar. But one thing is obvious…the driver’s loyalty to a particular university, a sport, their political persuasion,
an activity and my least favorite of all, the size of their family represented by “stick people”! Well, if I am honest I would also say that I dislike (greatly) the ones that start with “My Kid is an honor student at…
So why am I spouting off on this “pet peeve” which may seem rather insignificant in the larger scheme of things? Well, it seems that many of us are proud to display our loyalty to these things on our cars, but so often we as Christians seem to have difficulty sharing our faith. I also am not a fan of decals with crosses and fish on them. After all, we have all seen drivers who embarrass other Christians through their driving habits. Don’t worry…you won’t see me scraping stickers off bumpers!
It is one thing to have a specialty license plate, a license plate holder, decal, etc. on the outside of our vehicle, but another thing for us to wear the name of Christ proudly. Are we as willing to share our faith in one-on-one contact as we are to share our loyalties on our bumper? It is more difficult because we may face rejection. We may be avoided by others who don’t want to hear our testimony. We may not be as popular with our friends. But that is what Christ asks us to do: to wear His name proudly…as proudly as we would show our loyalties on the outside of our car. (Philippians 2:9-11; Colossians 3:17) I eat out a lot in restaurants and in casual conversation, many people ask me what I do for a living. When I tell them I am a worship minister, sometimes it opens doors; other times it gets very quiet. But, I am never ashamed to tell them that I love to lead people in worship of our God and Savior.

Don Seevers

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

