Tates Creek Christian Church

Updates and Insights from Tates Creek Christian Church

Leaving a Legacy

Do you ever think about what kind of legacy you are leaving?
Brad Haggard recently got me on to ancestry.com where you can trace your family line back through history by having access to public records. I have traced the Allen name all the way back to the 1500’s in England so far! I discovered that one of my grandfathers, Isaac Allen, fought in the Revolutionary War under the direct command of George Rogers Clark; fascinating! And also that Ethan Allen (look him up) is a brother of one of my great-great (etc.) grandfathers. It was fascinating to be able to look back and see where I’ve come from and what my family has been through over hundreds of years. I wonder if someday a descendent of mine will be able to look back and be proud of the legacy that I left behind. I want to leave a legacy of faith.
I was fortunate enough to be able to attend the funeral of William W. Simpson, Tommy’s father. It was amazing to hear the stories of his influence and to actually see just how many people were touched by his life and the life of his family. Billy left a legacy of faith for his family. It was such an inspiring experience for me to experience the effects of this man’s great faith.
Don’t ever underestimate the power of the influence you have in your own family. If you are like me, you might be only the first or second generation of Christ followers in your family tree. If we are diligent though, one day, generations in the future, our descendants will be able to look back and see the great legacy of faith and a family committed to the mission of Jesus Christ! I pray that if Jesus hasn’t returned, that my descendants will draw strength in their own faith from that legacy. What legacy are you leaving?

Mike Allen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

